European Society for Translation Studies
TwitterFacebookYou Tube


Young Scholar Prize

The next EST Young Scholar Prize will be presented at the EST Congress in Stellenbosch in 2019. The value of the prize is EUR 3,000.

The next application period will be in 2019.


The prize is for an excellent and significant contribution by a young scholar to Translation or Interpreting Studies, such as a doctoral thesis or equivalent monograph, not necessarily published. The work must have been completed and approved by the relevant doctoral committee (in the case of a doctoral thesis) between 31 January 2016 and 31 January 2019.

Who can apply

Applicants must be members of the Society at the time of application. Applicants must apply in person. Supervisors and other EST members are requested to draw the prize to the attention of potential applicants.

How to apply (for 2019)

Applications must be submitted electronically to EST General Secretary Łucja Biel at secretarygeneralest@gmail.com starting on January 1st, 2019, until January 31, 2019. For applicants whose doctoral thesis is only approved in January 2019, the submission deadline is February 28, 2019.

Applications must include
• the thesis or monograph to be evaluated
• a detailed abstract of between 1,000 and 1,500 words explaining the methodology used as well as the significance of the contribution and the innovation it offers
• the curriculum vitae of the applicant.

The work may be in any language. The abstract and curriculum vitae must be in English.


Each application will be assessed by three referees appointed by the EST Young Scholar Prize Committee. The assessment criteria are:

1. Form (clarity, language correctness, terminological adequacy, typos, layout, tables etc.)

2. Methodology: With a weight of 3 (the score for Methodology will be multiplied by 3 when calculating the total score), Methodology includes design, implementation, inferences in the case of empirical studies, and the approach, logic, use of appropriate concepts and theories etc. in non-empirical studies.

3. General contribution and degree of innovation of the work to the field: with a weight of 3.

The jury of referees will be arranged and coordinated by the EST Young Scholar Prize Committee.

The final decision will be proposed by the Young Scholar Prize Committee and ratified by the EST Executive Board.

Previous winners of the prize

2001: Nike Kocijančič Pokorn, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia

2004: Minhua Liu, University of Texas at Austin, United States

2007: Cemal Demircioğlu, Okan University, Istanbul, and Jorge Braga Riera, University of Oviedo, Spain

2010: Sara Friedman, University of Tel Aviv, Israel

2013: Haidee Kruger, North-West University, South Africa, and Beatriz Cerezo Merchán Universitat Jaume I, Castelló, Spain 

2016: Iris Schrijver, University of Antwerp, Belgium

Copyright EST 2016. Contact webmaster


John Benjamins
Sponsored by John Benjamins

See committee members here